Amused Authors


When Characters Take You By Surprise by Christa Maurice
October 9, 2009, 3:52 am
Filed under: new release, romance, Touchstone, Uncategorized, writing | Tags:

How, you may be asking yourself, can a character take the author by surprise? Don’t we know everything about our characters before we start writing? Aren’t they – ahem – imaginary people? How can they do anything unexpected when they only live in your head?

I don’t pretend to understand it, but mine do it all the dang time. Not too long ago I had a hero propose in the 5th chapter. I was sitting here (right here) writing the scene yelling at the computer screen, “No, are you crazy? You can’t propose already? We’re not even a quarter of the way through the story!” For a brief period I took solace in the idea that my heroine was far too level headed to say yes – until she did.

In The Rock Star’s Retreat, Jason did the same thing to me, but it was a lot more painful. Jason and Cassandra were walking through the woods talking. Since Cassandra has been a fan of Jason’s for a very long time, she thinks she knows everything there is to know about him. I was under that impression too. I thought he was being such a jerk because he was a spoiled rock star who’d been hurt by a bimbo and wasn’t getting over it. Well, were we wrong. In the middle of the forest, in the dark, Jason revealed the secret he’d been carrying around since childhood. The secret he hadn’t even told his best friend since elementary school. I was floored. So was Cassie. Jason was pretty shocked too.

So yeah, characters, imaginary people, can still take you by surprise. And no, I’m not going to tell you what his big secret is. I’m mean that way. But if you’d like, the book is available now at Freya’s Bower.

The Rock Star’s Retreat At Freya’s Bower.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I had a walk-on/die-off character in one of my books hang around for three books. He just insisted he wasn’t supposed to “leave” yet. *LOL*

Lesli.

Comment by Lesli Richardson




Leave a Reply

