Amused Authors


So I’m in the circus now? by Christa Maurice
September 4, 2009, 1:00 am
Filed under: fiction, life | Tags: , , ,

I knew I shouldn’t have skipped that day of clown college. Juggling has been more important to my life than I ever thought possible.

About a month and a half ago I finished up edits for The Rock Star’s Retreat. Time for a big sigh of relief? NO.

I got an email telling me that edits for Trio were on their way. I dug into Satellite of Love hoping/praying that I would have time to finish it.

Then I got an email letting me know that the first round of edits for Spark Of Desire were coming soonish. Yipe!

I finished Satellite Of Love and had not gotten edits for Trio yet. My Liquid Silver editor was having computer problems.

As I had a story knocking at the back of my brain, I got to work on it. I finished it in eleven days. Yep, eleven days. It was fun. Cleaning it up for submission is not going to be fun though. In a quick read through I realized that I skipped a lot because I was going so fast.

No time for that because the Trio edits arrived. On the heels of that arrival, I got the first forms for Spark of Desire. Oh shoot, those are still on my desktop. In that same email I was told the first round of Spark would be in my hot little hands in a week. The second of two weeks that I had for Trio.

Trio edits went fast. Real fast. I whipped through those babies and shipped the final off Tuesday. Five days before the deadline.

This left me a gap. Not knowing what to do with a gap, I pulled up some crits for my Weaver’s Circle stories and started work on those. I finished the first one and had started the second.

But wait, there’s more! The first round from Spark arrived last night. In her email, my editor said she hopes she doesn’t have to wait long for the next installment. Um, it’s half done. Oops. I guess I know what I’m going to dig into next. Got to work on Spark. It’s due the 21st.

I’m expecting final proof copies of both Rock Star and Trio. They are both supposed to come out in October. (EEEEEEE!)

Yep, juggling. Should never have skipped that class.

~Charlotte

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like you have been productive. Hopefully things will slow down a little so you can breathe.

Comment by Miss Lyons




Leave a Reply

