Amused Authors


My Poor Brother by Christa Maurice
July 24, 2009, 1:59 pm
Filed under: Touchstone | Tags: ,

I got an email from my brother yesterday. Poor guy. I don’t think he was aware of how old we’d all gotten until he realized that I turned 40 yesterday. 40! He’s 7 years older than I am. When my sister (who is 9 years older than I am) turned 40 he had a field day. Black balloons and everything. I got an email that said “My little sister is 40! Happy birthday. We should get together.” Not very loquacious, my brother.

But my big brother has always been supportive and without him I wouldn’t be writing books about rock stars. You see, big brother started playing Name That Tune with me when I was 6. He was fond of Kiss at the time, but he made sure I had a basic understanding of everything from the Beatles on. I may have been the only kid in my first grade class who knew all the words to Yellow Submarine and Octopus’ Garden. For my seventh birthday he bought me a copy of Hotel California. That was the first album I owned and I listened to it over and over again. I know I was the only kid in second grade to know all the words to Hotel California – even it I didn’t know what they meant. Much later he indulged me in a Def Leppard poster which (after 20 years and many walls) I still have and have long conversations with. (I spend a lot of time talking to the voices in my head. It’s nice to have faces to go along with them.)

So, it’s all my brother’s fault that I’m 55,000 words into a second Touchstone book with too much story to fit in the next 35,000 words, but I have to feel bad for the guy. He’s getting old.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

