Amused Authors


A special anniversary by Christa Maurice
July 3, 2009, 7:19 am
Filed under: fiction, life, writing | Tags: ,

One year ago this weekend, I received and signed my very first writing contract.

I had committed to helping my husband’s grandparents with their garage sale over Independence Day weekend and I had committed to sending One Ring To Rule to Lyrical Press. To save myself  grief and wear and tear on my refresh button as I waited for my rejection, I sent the submission late in the evening the day before I was to be offline for a 3 days.

The next morning I had a contract. If I remember correctly, that was the first time I made Emma Wayne-Porter late for bed. Is it my fault she thinks she can read part of something of mine and put it down? During a lull in the garage sale, I sat down to read and sign the contract. When I got to the very end and was about to date it, I remembered what day it was. July 4th. Independence Day. That had to mean something.

Okay, it hasn’t meant as much as I would have liked, but I have since signed four other contracts, two with Lyrical, one with Freya’s Bower and one with Liquid Silver so I am well on my way. And it all happened in one year.

Happy Independence Day!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hell it’s a good feeling to receive that email.

“Dear author, we are pleased to inform you . . .”

Then by that stage my heart contracts and I go slightly blind and out of breath and have to start reading from the start again just to make sure that I’m not imagining things.

You deserve your happy dance!

Comment by Nerine Dorman

Happy Anniversary! (((dancing with you)))) Receiving that acceptance contract is such a high. Here’s to more and more!

Cassie

Comment by Cassie Exline

Hey Charlotte, Happy Anniversary!

Comment by Camila




Leave a Reply

