Amused Authors


A Sharpest Wife, Episode 10: A Secret War by Grayson Cole
January 25, 2009, 7:27 pm
Filed under: A Sharpest Wife, fiction, romance, writing

sharpest-blade2 Okay, okay. I’ll admit it. 🙂 I don’t know what I’m doing! You caught me. I have been teetering on a decision about this piece of fiction for a couple of weeks now. So here’s where we are. I have every intent of working on the novel version of A Sharpest Wife… but I can’t seem to let the serial blog go just yet… So…

When last we met, Ananda mysteriously saved Mari from an attack by Hapod who ranted about war and blood. Mari then accompanied Ananda into the “royal chambers” where we find Clayan suspended against a wall like so much art…

Again, if you’d like to start from the beginning, check this tale out in its entirety at http://www.graysonreyescole.com/ASharpestWife.htm

Mari didn’t know how to respond.

“Taking blood allows that.”

Startled, Mari swallowed. “Ah, yes…”

“It allows you to know all that is a person. All that they know. Even things they do not know consciously. You cannot hide secrets from one who takes your blood. And so, I have learned many things.”

Ananda raised her hand, palm out, as if she touched Clayan from afar. The trapped man grunted and tried to twist his head, as if he felt the touch.

“Clayan has taken my blood as well. For the first time, I am grateful for my rearing. I was merely a manifestation of duty. All my life, I have learned the way of a Sharpness Wife and nothing more. For this reason, I know very little. I am lucky for it.

“I chafed against the bridle when I was a little girl, Mari. Can you imagine that? Can you imagine that I rebelled even in the smallest way?”

Maybe Mari would not have believed it of the Ananda she’d met before Clayan’s escape. She believed the woman beside her capable of anything.

Ananda continued, “However there are recent secrets about my own nature, A Sharpest Wife’s nature, that Clayan now knows. It is information that may prove to be dangerous should he be allowed to share it, or should someone take his blood.”

Ananda studied Clayan as if he were an object of art.

“Hapod was correct,” she spoke without emotion. “There is a war. An ancient, secret war, that rages within our tribe. A battle of finesse and will and breeding. A battle of the choicest deception. Just now I have learned of this war and what my part must be in it.

“Should I engage, I must never allow Clayan to take my blood again because he will know what I know, learn what I learn. But if he does not take my blood, he will die. None other can sustain him now. Yet, if he dies, I die because I have accepted him as my husband, my sustenance.

“If I do not engage in this war, I may be killed by my own kind, and many more women will die from ignorance. If I do engage in this war, I will be forever vulnerable, forever on guard, forever working to deceive with blood and still, many more women may die.”

“Ananda,” Mari lowered her head and said the namely almost too softly to be heard. “I don’t understand.”

“Think on what I’ve said, dearest Mari,” Ananda replied.

A glint caught Mari’s eye. Ananda had recovered her marriage blade. She was turning it slowly in her hands, though she continued to study her husband.

“What will you do with him?” Mari’s words remained soft, non-threatening.

“He left me to die.”

“But you can’t do the same. Right?” Mari rubbed her temple. “There is a war. You and Clayan are on opposite sides. If you don’t fight, your side may kill you. If you do fight, you cannot allow Clayan to take blood from you, which will cause you both to die.”

“Correct.”

“So, you can’t keep him up there. I mean… can you?”

Ananda tilted her head and Mari looked up to see what may have been the end of a smile.

“No, I cannot keep him there. He has intelligence to gather and a few… other responsibilities to attend. After all, he taught me more than blood this day.”

Grayson Reyes-Cole
http://www.graysonreyescole.com
Bright Star
http://www.lyricalpress.com/bright_star.html

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh, this is getting SO good! You never disappoint, Grayson!

Comment by Rita Vetere

Why thank you, Rita!

Comment by graysonreyescole




Leave a Reply

