Amused Authors


What Are Your Goals? by ~ Me ~
January 10, 2009, 4:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This being the beginning of a New Year, its the traditional time to start talking about goals and resolutions and all those other scary concepts.  Nearly everyone I know has made the resolution to los wieght in 2009. Well, that’s the traditional resolution, but it’s getting to be old hat. 

And, if you’re a writer it goes without saying you’d probably like to make a sale or land an agent or some equally impressive goal in the new year. But keeping it simple, keeping it real, I sat down and tried to formulate a realistic goal. What’s a “realistic” goal? Well, I like to think it’s one that has definable steps. One you can work at in stages and have some way of measuring the level of your success.

Keeping all this in mind, I’m making my goal simple this year. I’m resolving to complete one full length novel in 2009.  I expect to complete more like three or four this year, but I’m keeping it simple. I don’t want to overwhelm myself.  I plan on working out a certain word count I need to meet per week or month and sticking with it. 

But enough about me.  What about you? What are your goals for the new year?

–Dara England

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Writing goal: To keep paying the bills. *LOL* Agent? Feh, I’m managing to do just fine without one.

Personally: to get organized.

Let’s face it, e-publishing is the future. Paper books won’t ever “die out” totally, but even the “big” houses are switching to e-publishing models. They have to. They won’t survive if they don’t. It’s better for the writer, the publisher, and the reader because instead of a hardcover book for $25+, they can sell it for $8 or whatever, still sell as many, and everyone makes even MORE money in the process. Win-win.

Lesli.

Comment by Lesli Richardson




Leave a Reply

