Amused Authors


A little insight by Tymber Dalton
December 26, 2008, 6:00 pm
Filed under: fiction, life, writing | Tags: , , , ,

It’s not uncommon to get the, “Why are you a writer?” or “How do you get your ideas?” questions. I thought I’d post today on this, because frankly, it’s kicking my ass right now.

I have a novel contracted with Lyrical Press to come out in 2009 under my Tymber Dalton pen name, titled, “The Reluctant Dom.” This is one of those “kicking my ass” stories. See, some stories, I get a snippet of an idea for it, then build on it over time, weeks, days, months, sometime years.

Not this one.

This is one of those rare ones that settled right in, totally disregarding the fact that I’m DROWNING in work right now, and said, “Write me, or I will drive you insane.”

So what’s a girl to do?

A little background information is in order. This is the first Christmas without my grandmother. She died the day before my birthday, which this year fell on Mother’s Day. So of course around the first of December, I started thinking about her because that’s when she had her first heart attack, and from that point on we knew we were on borrowed time with her.

Literally.

Waiting for someone to die, it’s agonizing. Especially someone you love so much.

Many writers will tell you writing is, frankly, cheaper than therapy. Much cheaper. And sometimes, it’s much more productive. It certainly is in my case.

This book is also strange in that it’s practically writing itself from start to finish, with very few “skips” in the process. Usually I write a book all over the place and smooth it out after. This one is just about writing itself from Chapter One to The End. My poor editor says she needs to invest in stocks in tissue companies to survive this edit, if that tells you anything.

So what’s it about?

It’s about a man who is thrust into a situation he’s not only uncomfortable with, but trying to deal with his own grief. His best friend of forty years, a man he literally thinks of as closer than his own brother, reveals he’s dying. Not only that, but he confesses he and his wife have had a secret life for their twenty-year marrage–he is a Dom, and she is his slave. Not just in the bedroom, but twenty-four/seven. And he wants his friend to take over as her Dom and Master so she won’t kill herself (this is all revealed why) when he dies.

So not only is our reluctant hero trying to deal with his grief and emotions, he’s forced to learn a lifestyle he’s not entire comfortable with. He’s also forced to confront the truth, that he’s been in love with his best friend’s wife since he first met her.

It’s not your normal BDSM story, for sure.

And it’s Kicking. My. Ass.

I always get emotionally caught up in my stories. I can’t help it. But this one has left me sobbing nearly every day. I know it’s my own grief and emotions coming to the surface, but my poor editor says she’ll soldier on through her own red eyes and simply forgoe the mascara for a few weeks. *LOL*

And I can’t not write it. That’s not an option. Until I get it written and out of my system (and out of my mind) it will continue to displace everything else. I’ve written over 85k words in the past 15 days, if that tells you anything.

Lesli (aka Tymber Dalton)
http://www.leslirichardson.com
http://www.tymberdalton.com

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

