Amused Authors


More Poetry by ~ Me ~
November 25, 2008, 8:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I’m still reading through Shakespear’s sonnets, and so thought I’d share another one I like. This one’s a bit morbid for Amusing Authors, but for whatever reason, it just appeals to me.

 

No longer mourn for me when I am dead

Than you shall hear the surly sullen bell

Give warning to the world that I am fled

From this vile world, with vilest worms to dwell:

Nay, if you read this line, remember not

The hand that writ it; for I love you so,

That I in your sweet thought would be forgot

If thinking on me then should make you woe.

Oh, if I say, you look upon this verse

When I perhaps compounded am with clay,

Do not so much as my poor name rehearse,

But let your love even with my life decay;

Lest the wise world should look into your moan,

And mock you with me after I am gone.

 

My favorite parts are highlighted. Drop a comment and tell me yours. 🙂

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“surly sullen bell”

Something about that line really hits me, I love how evocative it is.

Lesli. (aka Tymber Dalton *LOL*)

Comment by Lesli Richardson

Me too. Nobody can move like Shakespeare. LOL

Comment by dara11

I always liked the one where he talks about what “his love” looks like. I can’t remember it exactly, but he says things like “my love’s teeth are not like pearls.”

Shakespeare never really did it for me though. When you get up to TS Eliot and “The Love Song of Alfred J. Prufrock” let me know. You’ll never look at peaches the same way again.

Comment by Charlotte McClain




Leave a Reply

