Amused Authors


A Sharpest Wife: Clayan’s Escape by Grayson Cole
November 2, 2008, 6:48 pm
Filed under: fiction | Tags: , , , ,

So here we are. On Halloween I started “A Sharpest Wife” … It’s not complete yet, but here is the first portion of the story. I will be visiting every sunday for the next several weeks to post the latest installation of the tale. Please comment, please suggest, please ENJOY!!!

— Grayson

Prologue: Clayan’s Escape

My Sharpness Wife was unremarkable. In the days leading up to our wedding, she was silent. In the few days after, she was present. Only present.

Even as Ananda alerted me softly of death from the sirens and opium and weapons of Babylon , she was unremarkable. Her words were lost on me as was her face and form neither of which I elected to commit to memory.

Excitement. A roar not a whisper. Primitive flesh, instead of education, institution, I wanted.

I had never thought myself left like the other men of our tribe. I had believed myself to have a heightened level of sensitivity, of awareness. i had never believed myself to be either selfish or cruel. After all, I did take the dim star to wife.

I found that I was like the men of my tribe after all.

And so I left her, my arranged wife, thirteen days from the night of our wedding. I left her, my Sharpness Wife, ill and chaste. I did not regret it. Remorse was something for the free. I had not been free to choose, and thus felt nothing for her. She had not been free to choose, and so should have been pleased to be free of me, free of this construct.

I was—am selfish.

Leaving a Sharpness Wife to a cold bed kills her.

Unless she is a Sharpest Wife.

It is impossible to know which Sharpness Wife will be a Sharpest Wife. Speculation targets beauty and intellect and softness of which Ananda demonstrated none. Her warning whisper had been a hard scratch in my ear, even. Poorly formed thoughts contorting a plain face and sputtering in a fast breath.

Invisibility she had in the span of mountains, canyons, and clouds. But for those moments, those rasped moments, when she cautioned me against all that I desired, I was unable to make her out from the walls, the cabinets, the drawers, the tables, the chairs, the floor. A living ghost, my Sharpness Wife.

When I closed the door on Ananda, that day thirteen days from when she became my Sharpness Wife, she became a Sharpest Wife. And so began one hundred and sixty-nine days of my Atonement.

 

Grayson Reyes-Cole

Author of Bright Star

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, this sounds like a fascinating world to be telling a story in. I look forward to more!

Comment by asherose

Cool idea, Grayson. I’m a little bit scared of that wicked looking knife though. ;D

Comment by dara11

Thanks Dara… The knife isn’t soooo scary, but Ananda may be! lol

Thanks, Kathleen… As I’m discovering the world, I’m getting more and more fascinated by it, too…

–Grayson

Comment by graysonreyescole

I’m waiting until I figure out what’s going on.

Comment by Charlotte McClain

Well… I’ve got more of an explanation coming next week. In the coming installment, we get out of Clayan’s head and into Ananda’s a bit!

We also get an explanation of the term’s Sharness and Sharpest Wife

–Grayson

Comment by graysonreyescole

All I will say is WOW…..this rocks

Comment by Savannah Chase

THANK YOU, SAVANNAH!!!

Comment by graysonreyescole

Looking forward to more!!!

Lesli.

Comment by Lesli Richardson

Thank you, Lesli!

Comment by graysonreyescole




Leave a Reply

