Amused Authors


Trouble Loves Me – The feeling is not mutual by Christa Maurice
October 21, 2008, 10:24 am
Filed under: life | Tags: , ,

Yesterday, I had planned to do laundry and hang it outside. It’s one of the last times I’ll be able to, but succeeding at such a feat in late October requires to the minute timing. I would have to leap from my bed at 8, rush to the basement to sort and get the first load in by 8:30.

When I woke it was sunny, but the clock claimed the time was 7 so I rolled over and went back to sleep. Later, I checked the time again after I was sure I had been asleep but the clocked claimed it was only 7:10. I checked my watch. 9.

Flying out of bed, I dashed down to get the laundry going. While I waited for the first load to finished, I made a cup of tea and sat down to check my email. I’m always very careful to put liquids far away from my computer. That didn’t stop me from reaching for something behind the cup and knocking it everywhere anyway. With Guitarman’s help, I cleaned everything up and tossed the towels in the wash. I needed to clean off my desk anyway.

The last load was in the rinse cycle when my friend showed up to take me to lunch. We have a standing Monday lunch thing and we decided to go downtown to eat at a locally famous place. In fact, if you read Funky Winkerbean, it’s the model for Montoni’s. You can’t get in the place at dinner time and thanks to road construction, you almost couldn’t get in for lunch either. We got lost within three blocks of the place. My friend and I were debating just parking the car and walking when we stumbled across the ultra secret route to the parking lot. We had to pass the entrance to the Bat Cave to get here and I think I saw a crate stamped “Holy Grail”  sitting in the weeds at the side of the road. I told my friend she had to pick next time.

I got through lunch with no mishaps. No spills and no choking. Whew.

We went to Starbuck’s afterward and since I knew the answer to both the trivia questions I got called a geek and got a discount on my beverage. Go geeks!

At home I found out two things. One, Guitarman had hung out the last load giving it a slender chance of drying before dark. Two, the towel I used to clean up the tea got lint all over everything. WooHoo, lint!

Trouble loves me like a nerdy guy I was once kind to. Will someone else please be kind to Trouble so it’ll leave me alone?

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s true that if you feed trouble, it will follow you home and never let you go. But the good news is, sometimes it brings interesting companions in its wake. What would life be without it? Great post, I giggled!

Comment by asherose

I love “like a nerdy got I once was nice to”. That tickled me!

Comment by Grayson Reyes-Cole

You just think it’s funny because it’s not your life. Fortunately, it is my life and I still think it’s funny. Now if I could just figure out what Trouble eats, I coud stop feeding it.

Comment by charlottemcclain

wow what a day you had…..

Comment by Savannah Chase

You look adorable in that picture! lol

Comment by Renee R.

Danke.

Comment by charlottemcclain




Leave a Reply

